Framing and composition

In terms of photography techniques there are hundreds to take and adapt them to a video shoot. Rule of thirds, the technique of dividing the picture in to thirds. A picture or video using the rule of thirds can give the sense of direction and creates balance. I like to use these techniques to plan video shoots to give myself a sense of direction and how I will go about filming. A composed shot is always gives you an upper hand at editing and the finished product.

Photography projects and learning about all kinds of framing and techniques over the years has made me more aware and creative with the camera if I was shooting video or a photography shoot. Planning a video shoot requires more than just going out and filming it. Extensive planning and composition is key if you want to produce a good artistic piece of film or video. I also feel that DSLR cameras are far better equipped to film an artistic piece of video. I have used Canon EOS 500d, 550d and 7d cameras to shoot videos and the outcome of the footage has been sublime. The Canon cameras are also used predominantly for photography but they serve more than one purpose and are more than capable of producing fantastic footage. The music video Earthquake by Labrinth feat. Tinie Tempah was entirely shot using Canon EOS 7d cameras. Take a look at the music video.

 

Leave a comment